The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
I need your opinion concerning my studio sound quality
Old 5th March 2003
Lives for gear

I need your opinion concerning my studio sound quality

I've been "rough" mixing this song for a possible signing, but my main question is directed toward "sound quality", and not the song, which you may or may not like, but that's ok. It's an mp3 file / 320 kbps. Not the best for evaluation, but the SD file's too large for download.

I need to know weather the mix is too bright, too heavy in the lower end, which would help me with future rough mixes. One thing that helped quite a bit was purchasing Benchmark's DAC1. Again, my question is directed toward sound quality.

If you have a moment, please download the song entitled "Ordinary Girl".
I'd appreciate your opinion.

http://homepage.mac.com/dlmusic/

Thanks
Imagine
Old 5th March 2003
Lives for gear

I'm far from an expert on this kind of music, so maybe my ears aren't as well tuned as they should be for critiquing this kind of thing- but I think this sounds very good. Not my kind of thing, but since we're just talking about the sound, I'd say it definitely is pleasing to listen to. I have a lot of respect for someone who can make this sort of generic pop sound interesting- with the wrong producer, this song would have been absolutely abismal. I feel like you've really made it sound extremely presentable. I hear a lot of high end, but that's pretty standard. It's not unpleasing high- just detail. Again, take my opinion with a pinch of salt, but I like it =) I'm not a fan of the vocal effect, but everything else is great.
Old 5th March 2003
Lives for gear

Imagine,
nice job....music is not my cup of tea...but since you asked..listening on my computer speakers it does seem a hair bright overall...the Kick thwack might be a bit loud,Bass a bit low perhaps?.......

Overall really nice production/arrangement and mixing job....
Old 5th March 2003
Lives for gear