The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
what do you think of the Trident 70 series
Old 8th July 2002
Lives for gear

what do you think of the Trident 70 series

hi all,

I'm about to upgrade my project studio. I'm using a ProTools HD2, 192I/O. Being a drummer, i do a fair amount of drum tracking at my studio. I currently use the Precision8 mic pre and even though it sounds very good, i'm looking for some pre's with a bit more colors and possibly some sort of small console to sum the PT stuff as i heard many people raving about this way of mixing but never tried it myself.
Anyways, so far i have my heart set on the Dakings pre/eq. The Eqs sound very musical and the pre's are FAST and in your face !!
I'm also contemplating the possibility of getting a console and was looking at the Trident 70 series. Since there is no way for me to test drive the console, i almost have to buy it blind. Anyways, can anyone here care to comment about this particular console ?? the asking price was
$ 12 500.00....is this a good deal ???
Thanks a million.
Old 8th July 2002
Gear Nut

I had a Trident 70 for a few years and I can tell you that they sound great. It is basically a scaled down version of the Trident 80. The mic pres and eq's sound very nice. They have a clear, crispy sound that is very musical. Old Tridents need a lot of maintainence so be sure you buy some spare modules and that you keep the various switches, pan pots, and caps on hand.

My Trident had an upgraded output buss that used an API circiut with Jensen 990 op amps and transformers. It was not much money for the mod and is worth doing. I had mine done at Sonic Circus and I believe that the mod was sold as a kit by Inward Connections.

At that price, be sure that the console is fully loaded because it is difficult to find spare modules.