The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Digital Camera for Outboard Recall
Old 14th February 2003
Lives for gear

Digital Camera for Outboard Recall

I want to get a digital camera to record session settings. Track sheets are not compatible with me becuse I'm not good with paper organization. I hope to just take pix of every patch and rack for each file/track. It'll take up space but hard disk is cheap.

Can anyone reccomend anything that's mac compatible? OS 9 please.

Quality doesn't really matter, since I only need to be able to tell knob position. A flash is neccesary.

I just don't want the camera to be total shitzat ya know?

Thankies.grggt
Old 14th February 2003
Lives for gear

I use a Nikon CoolPix 775 for exactly this purpose. Works fine, has a decent macro mode for close-up shots, and mounts as a disk in OS9 when you plug-in the cable.

-dave
Old 14th February 2003
Lives for gear

I use an Olympus Camedia C-211 zoom for this. It's a 2.1 megapixel with SmartMedia card storage and a built-in USB connection that works fine with OS9. Prints Polaroids too, $200. HTH
Old 14th February 2003
Lives for gear

Be carefull with the flashlight! It might highlight parts of the pictures that are important!
Old 14th February 2003
I think my 'toy' Casio ExSlim will be ok, but I reckon a tiny halogen lamp I use to see behind the racks at my place wil be a better light source than the flash, the flash will probably just bounce back off the gears faceplates and f**k up the photo..

its a great gadget,

http://exilim.casio.com/camera.cfm

A 3 mill pixel & optical zoom model is due out any day now...

tutt
Old 14th February 2003
High End Moderator

I use a Nikon coolpix 990. Take the picture from a slight angle above or below the front plate to avoid the flash problems.

For all that use the old method of writing stuff down as they go, here is a cool website:
http://chambinathor.free.fr/recallus/recallu2.htm
Old 15th February 2003
Lives for gear