The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Manley EQ - Mastering Edition Question...
Old 24th January 2005
Gear Maniac

Manley EQ - Mastering Edition Question...

Hey Guys & Gals-

Question(s):

I recently "inherited" a Manley EQ very similar to looking to their Pultec (same settings, bands, etc.). However, on the front it's labeled "Mastering Pultec Equalizer" - or something very similar, I don't remember off hand.

After scanning Manley's site, I haven't been able to find any information and/or pictures of this puppy. My assumption is that it's a "Mastering Version" of the EQP-1A. Does anybody have this unit? Anybody have any information they might be able to impart that can solve it's mystery? If it is a version of their regular EQP-1A, how is it different? Since I'm not a mastering engineer and I only have one channel, has anybody used it for other things than mastering?

Thanks in advance!

Tuna
Old 24th January 2005
Gear Maniac

Ok, just read the PDF manual for the Manley Pultec off their website and it made reference to a mastering version that was adjustable in .5 db increments instead of a sweeping adjust. Sounds to me like I'm heading down the road of answering my own question.

HOWEVER,

There are no XLR in/outs on this thing - only 1/4". Don't know if they're balanced or unbalanced.

Anyone?

I may be responding to myself, but hey, at least I'm not talking to myself!!!

TUNA
Old 24th January 2005
Gear Addict

lend it to me ... i'll figure out what it can be used for ... " I know what a MANLEY is !!!"
Old 24th January 2005
Gear Maniac

Again, typing to myself...

I think no XLR inputs/outputs on my unit mean's it's transformerless... which is certainly different from the 3 transformers that the normal Manley Enhaced Pultec has...
Old 24th January 2005
Lives for gear