The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
what's a project studio? Condenser Microphones
Old 14th July 2008
Gear maniac

what's a project studio?

Just wondering what the definition of a "project studio" is.... or what makes a project studio consider themselves to be "project" v.s. "pro"? what makes a project studio "project"

Limited amount of gear? cheap gear? Low number of inputs? cheap rates?

Personally I think I'm a pro, but still call my studio "project" because I have 1 room, I'm 100% in the box and do not have a big console. Plus I dont charge very much.
But I have a small collection of decent mics, pre's lots of inputs, and nice monitors.

Thoughts?

Sorry for all the "quotations" end quote......
Old 14th July 2008
Lives for gear

You could say these days anybody with a cpu and a few pieces of gear is a project studio,but i think they run the gamut of setups.I mean the guy i worked for for fifteen years has what i consider a project studio,Trident 80b analog console with gobs of keyboard gear, recording grand piano,a few mics and mostly does private stuff.It is certaunly pro,and i consider myself a pro,with my project studio:toft 32 ch analog console,lots of keyboards and a few good mics and preamps myself but my stuff is in a bedroom.It's what i call a medium level project studio.Good Luck Ay!

Dan P
Old 14th July 2008
Lives for gear

i think all studios are project studios..a musical compilation or recording is a project..some are pro projects and some are amature and your equipment and work ethics decide wich one you are..depends on your results..I.M.O.
Old 14th July 2008
Lives for gear

THIS is a project studio.

Shared Soul
Old 14th July 2008
Being as I'm a partner in one, I feel somewhat familiar
with the topic ;-)

A "Project Studio" means just that ... that when somebody walks