The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
My Focal twin 6's Studio Monitors
Old 18th December 2007
Gear maniac

My Focal twin 6's

I finally got to use my pair of Twin 6's this week. All I can say is holy s**t. These are amazing speakers. I have been using Adam S2a's and loving them for the past 5 years. But it was time for a change after hearing how my mixes were not translating.

Obviously gearslutz played a huge role in my auditioning process as did Gil at Wave Distribution. Ubk's post a little while back sealed the deal and I got them within a month. I am actually sitting here listening to Steve Remotes' recording and mix of Another Kind of Blue recorded live at the Blue Note. I have extensively heard this mix on my Adam's, but on the Focal's, the clarity, separation and sheer microscopic aural detail of these speakers is amazing.

At all volume levels I can hear every nuance. Each instrument seems encapsulated in its own space, virtually undistorted. Reverb tails, string noise and the sound of pumping compression take on a life of their own. I almost feel like I can discern every piece of gear in the signal path. When I switch to the Adam's, the mix seems to collapse inward and it actually sounds "mixed" particularly in the midrange, although still sounding pretty.

I can only imagine what it will be like to mix on the Focal's. Its like each instrument is laid out ready to be worked on, while simultaneously retaining its context within the mix. I finally feel I can get the results I have been working so hard for in the past.

I'll post more when I mix on these within the next month.
If anybody in the New York area is interested in hearing them, give me a shout.
Old 18th December 2007
Deleted User