The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Studio Projects C4's Anyone using them?
Old 6th December 2007
Gear Addict

Studio Projects C4's Anyone using them?

I'm looking for another pair of SDC's primarily for main pair or spots for classical use and was wondering if anyone has any feedback on these. They seem like a great deal at $359 for a factory matched pair with interchangeable capsules, and the specs. seem excellent but how do they sound? Can they compete with other low-mid priced SDC's like Shure KSM141 and AT 4051?
Old 6th December 2007
Gear Head

I own a pair. I'm no gear expert, and aside from the occasional overheads that I've used them for, I've only used them on ride and hi-hat. In those instances I've preferred them over the SM81... I've never used the other mics you mentioned though.

I apologize if that isn't any help to you.
Old 6th December 2007
Lives for gear

We have a pair at church. They're okay, not bad, but not great either. We used to use them as overheads, they've been replaced with Sennheiser 914's. I sometimes use them on perc, or strings. Our acoustic players always go through a D.I., so I can't comment on their use for guitar, but I'm sure they'd do a decent job. I think they're at least as good as Rode NT5's, not as good as the Shure KSM137's.
Old 6th December 2007

They were recently redesigned.

The older version sounded pretty good until it got loud and then they got harsh fast. For stuff quieter than rock and roll cymbals, they should work fine.

Can't speak to the new ones.

-tINY

Old 7th December 2007
jhg
Lives for gear

New C4 mics

I had a couple of chances to hear the new C4s in a good room with a knowlegable engineer recently. They sound very good. I wouldn't hesitate at all picking up a pair. Job well done on the new studio projects mics. Price is deceptive.
Old 7th December 2007
Gear Addict