The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Ergonomics for Computer / Mouse / Keyboard Use
Old 27th September 2007
Gear Nut

Ergonomics for Computer / Mouse / Keyboard Use

Hello Folks

I am a songwriter / composer / arranger. I have been struggling with achieving a position that is both convenient (and healthy) for computer keyboard and electronic keyboard use (not to mention the mouse). I have tried desks that either optimize one, or the other, but not both. What has worked for you, and what hasn't? The requirements for piano and computer use are pretty similar ...

Quote:
Sit at such a height and distance from the keyboard that your arms are naturally bent and your fingers fall on the white keys easily and can reach the black keys when stretched out a little.
Quote:
Keep your forearms level with the keyboard, with your elbows a little higher.
Old 27th September 2007
Lives for gear

I hear you man. I suffer badly from this as well. I assume you're familiar with the basics such as trackballs and wrist pads (or whatever they're called in english).

A few things that I've found helps:

* Working out. I do this regularly, but whenever I have a break from it because of injury or whatever, my RSI gets worse.

* "Active relaxation". As a guitarist I had to learn this when my pain was really bad, otherwise I couldn't play the many hours I wanted. I believe the most important parts to relax i your shoulders and neck since a lot of arm pain really comes from there in the first place.

* Stretching exercises. Stand up and walk around, stretch your arms and so on, every once in a while.

* Keep a clean desk. For a long time I had almost no space on my desk which resulted in very awkward positions. Keep a lot of space on your desk.