The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Hello & Questions (My First Post)
Old 22nd September 2007
Here for the gear

Hello & Questions (My First Post)

Hello Everyone This is my first post on the forum full of endless knowledge.
A friend of mine directed me here when I told him I had some recording questions, and told me this was the best place to go.

I'm sure some of these questions have been asked before, but I've only got a short amount of time to make this post before I have to leave for a little while, and thus don't have time to do an extensive search, so I apologize if this has been seen a million times

I'm an advanced guitar player, but a total novice at recording, and I don't have an overabundance of money, so I can't just go out and buy the best gear money can buy, or pay someone who has it already.

I'm currently in the middle of working on a Christmas CD with a friend (As silly as everyone seems to think that idea is :( lol)and would like the quality to be as close to professional as humanly possible with the gear I've got.
My gear is as follows (the important stuff anyway).
Mesa Boogie Mark IV Amp Head
Mesa Boogie 4x12 Cabinet
Shure SM57
CAD M37 (in the mail)
PreSonus Firebox
Nuendo

I've also got the obvious, like a mic stand, XLR cables, etc...the things that would be stupid not to have, lol.

In the near future I intend on getting a Sennheiser e609 to accompany my Shure SM57 (I'd love to use an MD421 with the SM57 like John Petrucci does, but that's definitely over my budget). I'm also going to get a good pair of headphones for mixing, since I don't have the room for speakers, and I'm used to headphones regardless.