The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
What do you producers prefer - simple, or full band demos? Plugin Bundles
Old 9th September 2007
Gear Head

What do you producers prefer - simple, or full band demos?

I'm currently writing for my EP, it'll be my first high end recording. I'll hire somebody to produce the songs.

I just started putting together demos for my songs. I'm a solo artist, so it takes a lot of time to record full band demos, since I need to record or program every single instrument.

I'm starting to think that all of this is a waste of time, since I'm pretty much doing the producer's job (worrying about structure, arrangements, etc). Should I just put together simple piano/vocal or guitar/vocal demos, instead of producing full band recordings? I've heard that producers prefer simple demo recordings anyway, since it allows them to just focus on the song. It'd be great if some of the more experienced gearslutz could comment on this.
Old 9th September 2007
Lives for gear

Depends on what you are hiring a producer to do. If you are paying them to do fundamental arrangements, then hire an arranger/producer and just deliver your rough songs. Don't do full demos unless you think it's going to be useful.

If you have a concept for the sound, then tinker and sketch out what you want to do, and find a producer who will work with you to hone your idea into something that works.

There is also a budgetary decision. The more conceptual work you do yourself, the less you might have to pay a producer. In this case, think of your demos as a rough sketch and you are working with a producer to create a final draught. There are some caveats - is what you do worth polishing? Do you have a cohesive concept? Do you trust your judgement? Can you be objective?