The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Mic cables Summing Mixers
Old 6th September 2007
Lives for gear

Mic cables

I'm fairly new to recording and computers, and especially electronics. I don't mind paying more for gear if I know what I'm getting is worth it. Could one (or more) of you worthy slutz explain the difference between a $5 MF mic cable and a $45 Mogami?
Old 6th September 2007

You pay a bit for the name....

Other than that, durability is a factor. $5 seems too low, you should be thinking about $25 for something that will last.

-tINY

Old 6th September 2007
Lives for gear

Its right..

For the most part there is not to much difference from $25 cables and mogami from a first look...Of course there are many plus points of mogami that the other does not have.

All my studio if fitted out with mogami..

Its nice to work your way up with gear and even cables...get somthing lower down and when you get more into it and more" knowledged " (for lack of a better word) then upgrade...Thats the way most ppl do it anyway..

Good luck with it all..

Jun
Old 7th September 2007
Lives for gear

Thanks! I thought I was gonna get a lesson in chemistry and physics--not that I'm disappointed, mind you...heh
Old 7th September 2007
Lives for gear

All cables sound different. I prefer the sound of aesebu wire, or canare non star quad. Plenty of others sound fine too tho. Mainly I wont use a cable that doesnt use a neutrik or similar copy xlr end.

On the cheap, audio technica and audiophyle offer pretty decent xlrs for $10.

Frost
Old 7th September 2007

Yeah, and I like the sound of the purple ones the best.

Except when I'm depressed, then the Yellow ones sound better to me....

-tINY

Old 7th September 2007
Gear Addict