The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
I did my first monitor analysis: Now what? Headphone Amps
Old 31st August 2007
Gear Addict

I did my first monitor analysis: Now what?

Hello everyone,

I'm a student film music composer and still very new to producing music, especially mixing. I'm using my fathers Alesis M1 passives and a QSC USA400 power amp in his studio; a converted garage thats been sound proofed into a very dead room (for pictures see: http://www.shopjt3.com/studiopicts.html). I've been generally unhappy with the way my music translates to other systems/environments, and am unsure how to fix this problem. Is it my monitors? Is it the room? Is it user error? I just dont know! For example, under the advice of a friend, I recently added my cheep home stereo subwoofer to my monitor chain, and was AMAZED at how much better my mixes became! I was no longer flying blind with low end frequencies, which in turn made my whole mixes less muddy! Seeing first hand the improvement this made, I'm wondering if the same thing will happen if I upgrade my monitors to a more "professional" set.

Hoping to gain more insight into my room/sound, I purchased the Alan Parsons monitor analysis package (pink noise test tones with DB monitor) and came up with some interesting results which I graphed here: http://www.shopjt3.com/images/monitor_analysis.jpg Note, there are 3 graphs: Alesis L+R+Sub; Alesis L+R with no sub; and Sub only. My Monitors are 20 inches from walls. Distance between monitors is about 47 inches. Distance from monitor to my working position is about 27 inches.