The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
MOTU 8Pre Questions.......
Old 30th August 2007
Gear Maniac

MOTU 8Pre Questions.......

Hey all,

I searched the forum, but did not find the answers i was looking for.

I do some scoring work, and i make instrumentals with my MPC synced to Logic Express (I am a student, but im going to jump to Pro once i have everything else sorted first).Now, i mix alot and have alot of projects for school that come in PT session files. plus i have come to love mixing via PT and have become very comfortable in PT.

I had an mbox2, but sold it, didnt like the sound it was giving me. I want to get a digi 002 for working in PT. But i have the chance to buy a MOTU 8Pre for pretty cheap.

Now can i think i should not have a problem hooking the MOTU to the Digi002 via Optical in on the 002 when i can afford the 002. so thats 16 inputs.

Now here comes the questions, there are only 2 for now.

1) Does the Digi002 have bad latency problem with Logic? would i be better off using the MOTU for Logic and the 002 for PT separately?

2) Would using the MPC 2000XL's sequencer to record the midi notes for the software instuments in logic to play back be a better idea then trying to deal with the latency if there is any with the 002?

3) Not really a question, but with the 8Pre chained to the 002 via optical, the midi I/O on the MOTU wont show up in PT correct? i dont think so, but im just making 100%, even tho im pretty positive its a no.

Does anyone have any info on these, or advice for me? i would love anyones input.

Thanks so much,

Rob
Old 31st August 2007
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by thefirehooligan View Post
3) Not really a question, but with the 8Pre chained to the 002 via optical, the midi I/O on the MOTU wont show up in PT correct? i dont think so, but im just making 100%, even tho im pretty positive its a no.