The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Recording dialogue in film production, and other questions. Dynamic Microphones
Old 30th August 2007
Gear Maniac

Recording dialogue in film production, and other questions.

A friend of mine is making a short film for fun and wanted to know what the best way to get the talking recorded. He says at times the mics sound distant, and other times they are too close and it totally throws the dialogue off from edit to edit in a conversation. Also he tends to get too much back ground noise. What kind of tips do you guys have who have done professional sound on films? What kind of mic is most recommended and how do you keep the sound from changing from edit to edit and remain consistent through out the film?
Old 30th August 2007
Sounds like he is using the camera mic. I have been doing sound for TV and film for about 10 years now. There are so many variables. What kind of camera/model would help.
Old 30th August 2007