The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
How To Break in TV Ad Composing
Old 23rd August 2007
Gear Head

How To Break in TV Ad Composing

Any advice on how to break into the TV ad composing industry? I am an independent composer, don't live in LA or NY, but I would like to compose tracks or at least market my productions to ad agencies outside my local area. I've done a lot of research about the industry, gathered a lot of contact info on specific agency creatives and producers. I've also written a wide range of 30 and 60 second tracks, and started pitching them to a number of ad agencies in the US. I'll appreciate any advice on my endeavors.
Old 23rd August 2007
Sounds like you're going about it the right way.

Get yourself a slick showreel and website and toute them around to any and all directors/creatives/producers in advertising that you can bend the ear of.
They're always looking for people who can do the work well, quickly (and cheaply!) so if you can come up with the goods you're in with a chance. You've just got to get your foot in the door with as many people who make it happen as possible and that means the guys at the advertising agencies.

You could also try applying for work at a dedicated ad composers agency who look after composers and find them work in the industry for a cut of the fees. You might have to give up some dollar but you'll get the work.

Basically, WORK WORK WORK!

Good luck! It's great when it happens. (I'm pitching for a campaign for Sky right now - fingers crossed).

Peace

the tortoise
Old 23rd August 2007
Old 24th August 2007
Gear Head

Thanks for the advice.
Old 24th August 2007
Gear Head