The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
AEA R84 Review Dual-Channel Preamps
Old 22nd August 2007
Lives for gear

AEA R84 Review

Ok, first of, I’m not a pro. But in all sincerity not many of you actually are either. So my thoughts and humble opinions in things concerning pro-audio should matter just as much as anyone’s.
This is the first in what I hope will be a series of reviews of products available to us striving audio engineers. This time my ears have found a microphone that created some buzz when it first hit the market. TheAEA R84, a cardoid ribbon microphone that according o the paper can handle up to 165db spl.
I’ve been messing around with recording fro a couple of years now. Most of the times I record my own voice. Once a friend of mine came by with his guitar, but frankly that session turned to ****.
However, I received the AEA R84 in its soft and quite strikingly gorgeous case. Custom made.
First I just put it up on a stand and took some polaroids of it. Looked great in my studio. After that I plugged it in and started my new-mic-routine. Singing in to it with my headphones (AKG) blasting.
I began with some classics, Elvis and such. Then moved on to some more contemporary material, I was kind of blue so mostly ballads today.
First impression, VERY little brightness. I was surprised, I mean this is a brand new microphone. This fact made me realise that the microphone is useless for ballads.
So I digged a bit deeper in my repertoir and started to sing more rock stuff. But no. Not for rock either. No way could this mic handle it. Sounded no way near the records I like and are the reason I got into the AE business.
The AEA R84 is not suitable for ballads and not for rock. So what the f**k do I use it for? Jazz fusion? I hate jazz fusion.