The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
MD421 vs SM7B on toms (& other sources) Dynamic Microphones
Old 20th August 2007
Lives for gear

MD421 vs SM7B on toms (& other sources)

I have been contemplating buying 421s for a looooong time now. I have never used them, personally, so I have no experience with their sonic signature and various uses. I've handled them several times.

In terms of dynamic mics, they *feel* cheap and the clip looks/feels brittle....especially given their relatively high price (for a dynamic). Seems like it would break pretty easily.

The primary use would be rack toms. Bu I like the idea of a versatile mic in the cabinet. I am really starting to like the Shure SM7B It is in the same price range. In terms of versatility, everyone seems to know what they're good for.

My question in for anyone who has compared the 421 and the SM7B on toms, and what other uses the 421s might trump the SM7Bs on if I add them to the locker.

I already have 2 SM7Bs. I was thinking of buying 1 more and having 1 for each rack tom , plus a hi hat mic. I usually use a beta 52, Audix D6, RE20 or DRK218 on the floor tom.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!
Old 20th August 2007
Gear Head