The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
which mogami cables!
Old 20th August 2007
Lives for gear

which mogami cables!

I am buying focal solo 6e's hopefully soon! What mogami do you recommend? Where can I buy it? What lenght, 10 ft or less?
Old 20th August 2007
Gear Head

My vote:
Mogami 2549

Check out Redco.com You can either buy everything to roll your own, or have them custom build your cables with you picking out all the parts.

Although I have no personal experience with their custom built cables I have ordered their mogami cable and some connectors to solder my own.

Good luck.
Old 21st August 2007
Gear Addict

Regarding length, I liked the idea of shorter cables in my early personal recording days, but now it's just annoying having more than a couple for me. Most of mine are 20ft which does the job nicely for me, but I have no idea what you'll need of course. Just bear in mind that it isn't that much more expensive to make the cable longer, seeing as the connections quite a bit of the cost.
Old 21st August 2007
Lives for gear

would others agree on that mogami model number??
Old 21st August 2007
Gear Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by fuzzface777 View Post
would others agree on that mogami model number??
No way, man! You really need solid silver cables for the Focals! You just don't get the "bloom" from the copper Mogami cables. ;-) heh

(Totally joking, btw!) heh

The Mogami 2549 should be perfectly fine for this. And 10-20 feet for the cables is fine . . . you could go longer if you need to. I mean . . . we use a significantly smaller gauge wire than this in multi-core snakes that run from the live room to the control room, etc., or multicore between patchbays, racks, etc. And the cables that run to your monitors aren't likely to be problematic for microphonic noise from cable handling, etc.