The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Instruments vs. gear!!
View Poll Results: What is more important for a great music experience?
Instruments
48 Votes - 92.31%
Gear
4 Votes - 7.69%
Voters: 52. You may not vote on this poll

Old 19th August 2007
Lives for gear

Instruments vs. gear!!

Every day I'm amazed of how many people here talk about music and gear without mentioning instruments. Are you even recording instruments?! I just had to ask...

So, in your world gear must be pretty important... Now you have to choose!

Good luck!
Old 19th August 2007
Gear Or Instuments

I have a decent studio set up. But if I had to chose....I would chose instruments. I was a musician first. I record all acoustic instruments.
Old 19th August 2007
Gear Guru

If i had to chose between the two i would say gear, i can take a cheap $79.00 bass guitar and make it come alive with great gear but sometimes a expesive guitar sounds bad through my great gear, id rather have both but if i had to choose , again gear.
ps: o yes instruments are no good without great musicians playing behind them, just another factor to share.
Old 19th August 2007
Gear Guru

The finest gear out there can only do so much to polish a turd.
Old 19th August 2007
Lives for gear

My musical experience has to start at the source. When the instrument begins to feel good it also begins to sound good....that's when I reach for the gear.

That said.....the evolution of the musical experience depends upon both.
Old 19th August 2007
i think the Instrument is more important(are amps included as instruments?).

but a good musician can make any instrument sound good, so with a good musician, i would say the gear will get you further.
Old 19th August 2007
Lives for gear