The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
generating business Reverb/Delay Processors (HW)
Old 15th August 2007
Gear Nut

generating business

Hi,

So I am thinkin about opening up my recording facilities to the public and was hopin
some of u slutz could give me some advice. Couple things about me I have been a musician for about 15 years , studied composition and theory along the way , got into recording about 5 years and have the gear and think I have enough chops at this point to make cash. I have recorded my friends bands, and other bands over the years with good results but initially got into it becauseI wanted to record the multiplt projects I was in at the time. This is what I have done so far to generate business.

1. Went to music stores, colleges and some other places and either posted up flyers on bulletin board or the owner agreed to do a cross promotion.

2. started website currently under construction , myspace page, listed services on craigslist.

I know there is a lot more I need to do but would appreciate some advice on generating inital business and any other tips. Also I live in a suburb of Chicago
and there are not to many recording studios so I believe I gotta good cance

should I contact labels and see if they wil work with me?
should I hire a marketing team?

Thanks
Old 15th August 2007
You need to persuade people that you are the guy they should trust with their project.

Think of yourself as like a guy who digs ponds for people for a living. You can talk all day and night about the great excavator you're got, the awesome transits, how great you are with a dowsing rod...

... until you can show people examples of the work you've done, it's all theoretical. And digging a pond is a huge investment, and your customers better feel REALLY good that it will turn out the way they want it.