The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
first job recording a band at my home studio, need advice
Old 17th July 2007
Gear Head

first job recording a band at my home studio, need advice

I am recording my first band at my place for a little over 3 weeks while the folks are out of town, I have soundproofed my room and have quality gear and went to school for recording arts so I'm confident that we will end up with a solid product. Problem is we have not worked out how I will be getting compensated. I will not charge them much at all for my mixing since I'm still not very experienced with the software that I'm going to be using (reaper) and will obviously run into a few hurdles along the way as I'm still learning. Besides just recording I'm also going to be playing keyboards on some of the tracks, how much I'm not sure at this point.
Here's what I was thinking, I'll charge them $15/hour while we are recording up to a max of $2000 (negotiable), plus 25% of cd sales after they recoup the $2000 (if they do). I would really appreciate any input or advice before I attempt to write up a contract.
Old 17th July 2007
Lives for gear

Make sure you put a "kill fee" in there if something goes bad and they don't want to finish the project with you. That way you can still collect.
Old 17th July 2007
Lives for gear

$15 is a cheap date thats like $3 an hour per band member if there are 5 guys in the band and they may not respect you. If you have a cap at $2k, I'd get $1k up front a week or two before the session.
Old 17th July 2007
Gear Head