The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
DPA 4003 help?
Old 4th September 2020
Here for the gear

DPA 4003 help?

Hi All, it seems like this is the right group to ask. I was given a old pair of 4003 from the B&K era. I am a classical guitarist and am hoping to use it but, I have lots of questions about them. I use an RME Fireface 400. When I plug the mics into the RME’s mic channels from its own 130v box with the phantom power off, I got very strong signal but it tends to be a very bright sound. I also tried to simply goes through the balance input. However, when I do that, the signal I got are minimum. I have to max out the input and still need to normalize the recordings to get it loud enough. I do like the sound very much. Am I doing something wrong? Are there something wrong with the mics? Help?
Old 4th September 2020
Old 4th September 2020
That's a wonderful gift! I own a pair of 4003's of that vintage; they are absolutely amazing microphones. Here are a few hints about using them.
  • B&K/DPA mics of that era came with two grids. The silver grid is for direct field use; the black is a "diffuse field" grid for use in reverberant field pickup. If used in the direct field, the black grid will cause a large HF rise.
  • You can now buy a newer "trapezoidal" grid which is intended for close-field use. The result is less bright than either of the other grids and might suit your taste.
  • The output of a 4003 is pretty hot -- 12 dB stronger than a 4006 of that era -- but it is not quite line level unless you have put it inside a kick drum.
  • The 4003 has an unbalanced output. Certain preamp circuits do not like this at all and will produce poor results.