The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Is it normal for mixing engineers to ask for royalty points?
Old 29th June 2020
Here for the gear

Is it normal for mixing engineers to ask for royalty points?

Hey guys it's my first time working with a "high-end" mixing engineer and he's asking for 2 royalty points. Is this normal practice? I'm really keen to work with this guy and I think he should get a fair rate, but it's already a high fee and it means I'd have to hire an attorney, since in the "deal memo" he sent me to sign it states that "the artists attorney is to draft the contract at a later date". Does this all sound right/normal to you all? I'm already stretching myself a bit then to hire someone at this tier, let alone hiring an attorney as well.
Old 29th June 2020
Gear Addict

I've always heard mixers get a few points. How else does CLA afford his Ferrari's?
Old 29th June 2020
Lives for gear

Apart from the question of whether or not to award points, I would first counsel against signing anything that may commit you to the terms of a contract that has not even been drafted yet.
Old 30th June 2020
It's not unheard of. But it's very much not normal (I even heard once that for CLA charged a point or two, but charged MORE if you didn't use his mix...cos then he wouldn't get those points!

Depends how absolutely sold you are on this guy. If you're prepared to walk away, then say so - "sorry, I can't afford the extra fees so if the flat fee isn't enough, I'll have to pass". I wouldn't be surprised if you find he capitulates.

Really - if you're an unsigned/indie artist, 2 points is really 2% of f-all. If you're already paying a few k for the mix, it's nothing. Plus it's really hard to audit an unsigned act; it's easy for a record label (I can log into Sony's portal and check royalties in real time, for example) but unsigned, he's literally relying on you to report honestly. It's simply not worth it.
Old 30th June 2020
Here for the gear