The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Help dating U87 & identifying capsule
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Help dating U87 & identifying capsule

Just purchased a vintage U87, looking to find the date of manufacture. Serial is # 13.168.

Capsule looks to be in too good condition to be the original, and I'm no expert in identifying genuine Neumann capsules. The layout of the screws do seem to match other Neumann capsules, as do the hand-written numbers.

Any help would be appreciated!
Attached Thumbnails
Help dating U87 & identifying capsule-img_1438.jpg   Help dating U87 & identifying capsule-img_1439.jpg   Help dating U87 & identifying capsule-img_1437.jpg  
Old 2 weeks ago
Emi
Gear Addict

Send an email to Neumann with the serial number, they will tell when was the mic built. This is what I did with all my Neumann mics.
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Yeah, they can get the exact date shipped.

Last edited by toledo3; 1 week ago at 07:13 PM..
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emi View Post
Send an email to Neumann with the serial number, they will tell when was the mic built. This is what I did with all my Neumann mics.
Thanks, couldn't find an email on their site but used the old address.
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

The capsule was made in 1996. And is all-original. The capsule date also indicates that it most likely is a replacement capsule for a U87, a model that was discontinued in 1996. The serial number of the mic would confirm that.

And, for the hundredth time: Neumann does NOT publish records of manufacturing dates of any of their mics, no matter what the revolving staff assigned to this job in Berlin tells you, but the company ledgers record the date of SHIPPING. Due to privacy laws in Germany, the previously very detailed shipping information is no longer published.

"Shipping date" reference was eventually lost, once the Neumann "Pinboard" site went down, a few years back.