The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
What to buy? Mic, Pre, Interface I'm lost
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

What is the best upgrade with greatest with ROI?

Hey fellow musicians
First time posting here.
I'm a full time producer and mixing engineer.
And I'm looking to upgrade some of my gear.
I have a good acoustically treated studio.
I know my gear is not the best, but it's decent and it still does the trick for me.
I work a lot remotely, and get most of my sound from plugins, but my customers are really happy about the quality. I'm not in the studio that much, only for recordings, and final checking my mixes.
Here's a list of my current gear. What do you guys think the best upgrade would be for me:

Mic: Rode nt2-a
Interface: Focusrite Scarlett 18i20

So in short, work mostly remote. Have a good studio, where I record only vocals and check mixes

What I was thinking about buying (budget about 1500 max):
Preamp or channelstrip or compressor: Avalon, SSL six, Warm WA-2a,
Interface: UA Apollo twin X
Microphone: ?

Any ideas on what will be the most of use for me, to really make next step on my audio quality. Maybe something completely else

Here's a reference of one of my current mixes: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uxXmViCSpgs
Old 1 week ago
Gear Maniac

you are doing such fine work with such low cost equipment, it's tough to make recommendations!

i would say don't buy a dedicated outboard compressor. you can get nice compression in the box. save your money for something that will get you more mileage. the ssl six is super cool. you get preamps, channel eq, faders, compression, monitoring, and other stuff. but you might not need that as your next piece.

maybe hold onto your money for a while, and then buy something next level for yourself. $3k gets you a manley reference cardioid.