The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Temp Recording Solution
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

Temp Recording Solution

Hello All,

Novice here and have a question. I currently support a small public event room. We have 5 mics (Shure) connected via XLR ports to a Rockville RPM109. We then have 4 in ceiling speakers connected and all works well.

A situation has come up that I need to have the mics first go through a Motu 8 pre USB before getting to the Rockville RPM 109. Basically the audio will need to be recorded and a laptop will be plugged into the Motu via USB. The vendor supplies the recording software to be used and they have required the Motu as that is what they support.

Should I be able to run the mics into the Motu 8 pre USB and then just use the 1/4" outputs on the Motu to get to the RPM109? From what I am reading it appears I might need to convert the signal before hitting the RPM 109.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redryder View Post
Hello All,

Novice here and have a question. I currently support a small public event room. We have 5 mics (Shure) connected via XLR ports to a Rockville RPM109. We then have 4 in ceiling speakers connected and all works well.

A situation has come up that I need to have the mics first go through a Motu 8 pre USB before getting to the Rockville RPM 109. Basically the audio will need to be recorded and a laptop will be plugged into the Motu via USB. The vendor supplies the recording software to be used and they have required the Motu as that is what they support.

Should I be able to run the mics into the Motu 8 pre USB and then just use the 1/4" outputs on the Motu to get to the RPM109? From what I am reading it appears I might need to convert the signal before hitting the RPM 109.

Any help is greatly appreciated.