The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Moved to a larger room, too much bass build up
Old 8th October 2019
Moved to a larger room, too much bass build up

I’m happy to report that I finally have a nice size room for my set up.
But after coming from a small 9X9 And I’m now in a 13X13 room, I can hear a lot of bass build up.
I have 12 bass traps made from Owens Corning 702 2x4 panels 6 inches thick.
I set them up temporarily just to sit in the mix position and it sounds terrible, I even recorded a quick drum track and it sounds awful, bass building up, no clarity.
As excited as I am about the larger space I’m now faced with trying to use the room eq wizard and can’t even get it to work properly.
Maybe I need a few days off.
Old 8th October 2019
Gear Nut

I'm only an amateur with room acoustics, but what I did in a room not much bigger was to place 600mm wide x 100mm deep panels of 48kg m3 fiberglass across 3 of the 4 vertical corners in the room. I couldn't do the 4th because of the doorway. I did the same across all of the wall/ceiling corners.

It helped a LOT.

-John
Old 8th October 2019
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Caf View Post
I'm only an amateur with room acoustics, but what I did in a room not much bigger was to place 600mm wide x 100mm deep panels of 48kg m3 fiberglass across 3 of the 4 vertical corners in the room. I couldn't do the 4th because of the doorway. I did the same across all of the wall/ceiling corners.

It helped a LOT.

-John
That is how i had my last room, but the new room has a radiator in one corner, the door in another corner and a closet in the last corner,
as you can see in the pictures.
Im going to have to figure out how to set up the room eq wizard and start by testing and moving the traps around.
Attached Thumbnails