The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
How often do you perform surgery?..... (on EQ) Dual-Channel Preamps
Old 14th March 2004
Gear interested

How often do you perform surgery?..... (on EQ)

I'm a newbie setting up my home studio (G4/PT Mix Plus/ 888/24) and I keep reading about surgical eq for removing problem spots etc..I'm looking to get my first quality mic preamp and eq, and I want to keep the eq section as simple (for a novice to get a good sound) as possible but still effective at getting good sounds without too much agita. I'll mostly be recording distorted (light and heavy) electric guitars and male vox;

So how often do you need a 'surgical' eq? Will I be okay with something relatively simple say a chandler tg channel or an aurora gtq2? Would I be better advised to get an eq with more bands, say a speck or great river eq1nv, or something even more complex than that?

I don't have the headroom on my visa card to buy a bunch and return the ones I don't dig, so I want to land in the ballpark on the first buy.

Thanks
Old 15th March 2004
Re: How often do you perform surgery?..... (on EQ)

Quote:
Originally posted by tiltrite
I'm a newbie setting up my home studio (G4/PT Mix Plus/ 888/24) and I keep reading about surgical eq for removing problem spots etc..I'm looking to get my first quality mic preamp and eq, and I want to keep the eq section as simple (for a novice to get a good sound) as possible but still effective at getting good sounds without too much agita. I'll mostly be recording distorted (light and heavy) electric guitars and male vox;

So how often do you need a 'surgical' eq? Will I be okay with something relatively simple say a chandler tg channel or an aurora gtq2? Would I be better advised to get an eq with more bands, say a speck or great river eq1nv, or something even more complex than that?