The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Shure SM 7 B vs. EV RE-20 on vocals
Old 13th July 2019
Gear Maniac

Shure SM 7 B vs. EV RE-20 on vocals

Hi,

I want to know general opinions on vocals between SFURE SM 7 B and EV RE-20.

I have some experience w/ the Shure, but I have never used EV RE-20 on vocals.
What your opinions?

Thanks.
Old 13th July 2019
Lives for gear

Unless a high SPL mic is needed I don't care for either. But if so, then I prefer the 7. It sounds less middy to my ears.
Old 13th July 2019
Lives for gear

The RE20 is subjectively "flatter" and more "accurate" sounding. On a great voice it is a very good sounding mic. The SM7b might be a better choice for "troublesome" vocals, it provides more "enhancement" and "coloring" to the signal. Of course, not all voices benefit equally. The RE20 will give a "truer" representation of the source, along with a "tighter" low end and a bit more high end "detail". IMHO. Good luck.
Old 13th July 2019
Gear Guru

I like the RE-20 over the SM7 for most things, vocals included. To me, it's just a better mic. And quite the workhorse if you are looking to broaden your mic locker.

But if you are purchasing a dynamic mic for the specific purpose of recording your own vocals, or your band's singer - i.e. one person - then you should take the care to shoot them out. In that case, versatility has to take a back seat to matching your singer's voice and your band's style.

Buy both from a place that will let you return one. Or rent. Or borrow. Or book an hour in a studio that has both.
Old 13th July 2019
Lives for gear

I find both to be in the same general ballpark.
I do prefer the RE20 though, because it‘s more versatile, and the missing proximity effect makes it more forgiving of poor mic technique or animated singers or players.
Old 13th July 2019
Lives for gear