The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Lead vocals for all songs (not just mine) sound muffled in monitors
Old 5 days ago
Here for the gear

Lead vocals for all songs (not just mine) sound muffled in monitors

I’m very new to mixing, and as I’ve been starting out, almost everything sounds fine in my monitor (I’m only using one and mixing in mono at the moment because I could only afford one, but I’m setting panning and listening in stereo on headphones and commercial speakers) but for some reason the lead vocal track is incredibly faint, but only in my monitor. Whenever I listen to other professionally recorded songs, the lead vocals also sound similarly muffled, even though they sound normal on other speakers and headphones. Likewise, my own lead vocal track sounds normal on other speakers and headphones, and if I set it to sound normal on the monitor, then the gain goes way above 0 db and the track is way too loud and distorted on other speakers and headphones. I can only imagine that it’s a hardware issue, and either I need a new speaker (it’s a “lightly” used Yamaha HS5 I got on eBay), or I haven’t calibrated them correctly. Anyone know what my problem might be?

Last edited by Ross49; 5 days ago at 03:03 AM.. Reason: Typo and adding information
Old 5 days ago
You probably need more sound treatment in your room. You likely have standing waves that are causing a buildup in the low mids and perhaps phase cancellation in the high mids. Or maybe your monitor just sucks.

What monitor are you using? Also, how are you summing to mono? Something tells me you might have a problem there.
Old 5 days ago
Lives for gear
Gain staging. What level is going through each step.
Most likley there is a poor piece of gear somewhere in the chain choking the sound.
Old 4 days ago
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick Norton View Post