The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Kush Electra, does it have competition for what it does?
Old 12th June 2019
Lives for gear
Kush Electra, does it have competition for what it does?

So I'm pretty new to hardware eq, and I figured go for 'color' eqs, because wouldn't software be as good as hardware for 'clean' eq?

But I kept hearing about clariphonic, and so I watched a video, and I couldn't believe my ears. That's possible?! What sorcery is this?!

Then I watched this video, and mind even MORE blown:

I didn't know eq could do this. As Scott turns the knob, and the titles say 'boxy ... honk ... smack ... snap ... crunch ... crack ...' I'm hearing this frequencies leap out of my speakers. Doesn't sound like their even connected to the rest of the track until you stop turning, and then it just sits there beautifully, like a whole new instrument sculpted to the mix. And that's from Youtube on my crappy computer speakers, had to scrape my jaw off the floor. And affordable! Tempted to grab both as they would seem to complement wonderfully.

I've never used a Clariphonic or Electra in person, but gotta. Read a lot of great info on GS about them now. While I'd use for tracking, prob mostly for mix/2bus and sometimes drumbus. I hear recall for mixes can be difficult, but I'm only mixing my own music, so it's not like I've got a zillion clients to worry about, usually mix one track at a time and tend not to need to go back. Would complement 2 channels of neve style eq (gritty, thick, and great), and a hendamps MA (my current go to, amazing, got a great deal on it, but clean or precise it is not, all about the thick wonderful mojo).

(btw, my music is mostly vintage analog synths, vintage fx, bass guitar, and drums, going for vintage warm 70's sound, just like that vibey tune in the video!)