The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Recording Dialogues with Neumann u89
Old 3 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Recording Dialogues with Neumann u89

Hi Slutz!

Been following the forum since a while ago and this time decided to start my own thread.

I've been invited to record dialogues in a film later this year, some of the recordings will be indoor with a ton of variables; i have to be able to adapt and succeed.

I have some studio gear of my own and i'm totally keen on the idea of taking a Neumann u89i to almost every indoor and use it as spot mic with a nice, stable boom, then just plug it into a RME's Babyface interface and record gold audio. Also considering a hidden lavalier as a backup to whatever issue i can have.

It is my first time recording on site for a movie but i have plenty of experience in studio acoustics and engineering.

-Anybody here an expert that might advice something?
-Is the u89 the right mic for this job? Considering it because it has the most flexible patterns and I want to use it on a supercardioid.
-Should i just quit and use the standard Rodes' NTG mics?
Old 3 weeks ago
Gear Addict
Superb mic for voice overs. If you are recording all the dialogue with it then it would probably work fine, if a little clumsy to manoeuvre if the you need to follow actors around. The shock mounting might be an issue?
Old 3 weeks ago
Lives for gear

https://en-de.neumann.com/km-185-series-180
https://en-de.neumann.com/kmr-81-i

Out of Neumann mics I would use these for indoors dialogue, with a good boom operator

Matti
Old 3 weeks ago
Lives for gear

I only do the re-recording of things and not location sound, but isn't almost all done on Lavs+Boom? If so, is there any reason not to go for that?

It just seems like there surely would be a good reason for why we see those mic types all the time and not others...
Old 3 weeks ago