Hi all-

Hope this is the right place to post this! I'm a composer who records a lot of:

-Double Bass
-Cello
-Steel/Nylon String Guitar
-Irish Bouzouki
-Mandolin
-etc..

I currently record using a pair of AKG c414 XLS' in Mid/Side going into an Audient ASP 880 going ADAT into an RME UFX. I record in a pretty small room with some soundproofing/baffles to get the room sound out, so everything is fairly close mic'd.

I've been liking the tone I'm getting from this setup well enough, but lately I've been curious about picking up a nice ribbon mic (or two).

Any general suggestions? I quite like the sound (from what I've heard online) of the AEA offerings. Would it be worthwhile investing 1-2k in a ribbon mic(s) or should I resist the GAS and just be happy with my pair of 414s?

Thanks for your time!
Old 4th May 2019
Lives for gear

Ribbons in general will provide a different character than your 414 combo. The bottom will be a bit bigger, the top a bit more apparently rolled off (although the response does continue to 15-16K) and the transients will respond a little differently. (Clusters of odd order harmonics, like those produced by jingling keys or certain metal percussion, drives condensers a little nuts but are handled much more gracefully by good ribbons.)
I think it would be worth investigating in your situation. AEA makes wonderful mics (I own and love several of them). Royer and Coles are also worth considering (likewise). The AEA mics are somewhat unique in offering long ribbons ala vintage RCA mics vs short ribbons in the other two. But all are lovely tools.
Old 4th May 2019
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crumbfort View Post
Any general suggestions? I quite like the sound (from what I've heard online) of the AEA offerings. Would it be worthwhile investing 1-2k in a ribbon mic(s) or should I resist the GAS and just be happy with my pair of 414s?

Thanks for your time!
This is GS, so you won't get much encouragement to resist the gas.