The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Studio Consoles Consoles
Old 5 days ago
Here for the gear

Studio Consoles

Hey guys,

I'm a fairly new audio engineer and am looking for a mixer to slot into a studio that I'm setting up. I've done a little research into the Toft ATB 32 but I'm seeing a lot of people on either side regarding this desk. I know it's a bit pricier than most live sound mixers but I'd just prefer an analogue desk as they have been what I've learned my craft on. I know the Toft isn't going to compare super highly against the Neve and SSL desks I've used but I want a few opinions on why I should go for the Toft ATB 32 over any of the cheaper live mixers such as Allen and Heath GL3000 or the Behringer X32 (which I know strays ino the digital domain)?

Thanks again!
Old 5 days ago
Lives for gear

Don’t get the Toft. The 32 channel is the noisiest one of them all. They’re built to a low price point and after owning it for several years you will really see it. ALL the pots get mega scratchy, the lightbridge starts going out fast, the quality control is really bad on them. Good luck trying to get two adjacent channels set to unity in line in mode without having to run a test tone. The gain pots will be miles apart from eachother.