The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Weird ground noise issue with AKG c414 b-xls mics I just got
Old 26th January 2019
Here for the gear

Weird ground noise issue with AKG c414 b-xls mics I just got

Just got a matched pair of C414 B-XLS mics. I record using a Tascam 488 mkii (8 track cassette recorder). For some reason, these AKGs are making a low humming sound only when used with the Tascam.

When I plug the AKGs into my interface and record digitally to my DAW, no humming. If I take that same signal and plug it into the Tascam - humming. If I touch any metal on the mic or cables or the tascam the humming stops or abates.

Now before you conclude the issue is with the Tascam - when I take down the AKGs and plug in my old ADK mics, no humming. There is something about these AKGs that are causing some weird ground issue with the Tascam. I've been recording with this Tascam for 5 years, been using all kinds of different mics - condensers and dynamics both, and I've never had this issue. Has anyone heard of this happening, or have any clue what is going on? Thanks.
Old 1st June 2019
Gear Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmross View Post
Just got a matched pair of C414 B-XLS mics. I record using a Tascam 488 mkii (8 track cassette recorder). For some reason, these AKGs are making a low humming sound only when used with the Tascam.

When I plug the AKGs into my interface and record digitally to my DAW, no humming. If I take that same signal and plug it into the Tascam - humming. If I touch any metal on the mic or cables or the tascam the humming stops or abates.