The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Michael Jackson and the sm7b Dynamic Microphones
Old 12th January 2019
Here for the gear

Michael Jackson and the sm7b

I’m pretty set on purchasing a tlm 102, but I have a question that I’m sure many have wondered yet there doesn’t seem to be a straight answer online. Sorry if it’s an obvious question but I’m rather new to the audio technical side of things.

As a light tenor, over the past year I’ve been wanting to purchase the Shure sm7b as it was famously used for Michael Jackson’s vocals on Thriller and has been used by The Weeknd as well on his most recent album. My question is, over the past year I have read so many reviews and watched so many videos of the microphone and in every single one of them (even when they’re using a top quality preamp) the audio has quite a dark tone that almost makes the voice sound deeper than it really is. So why would both MJ and The Weeknd use this mic when they’re trying to capture that amazing softness and light tone in their voice?

I would get one myself but I feel that it’ll take away the soft tone in my voice that I want to capture.

Cheers James
Old 13th January 2019
Here for the gear

So for some reason I posted this thread yesterday and it hasn’t shown up till now, and I’ve already posted this question on a different thread of mine because this one wasn’t working. Not sure how to delete a thread on my phone.

If anyone wants to add some extra input though it would be much appreciated!
Old 13th January 2019
Lives for gear

Listen in CONTEXT...THRILLER was at the time , one of the those productions that most studio projects wanted to be matched to... we always bought the new hits to A/B our mixes in Philly..and there was a dark one and a bright one.. we stayed inside