The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Choosing a LDC Condenser Microphones
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Choosing a LDC

Hello!
I've been recording and producing in my home studio (which is treated pretty well, minus a nice diffuser) for a a couple of years now and I'm expanding my mic locker.
The kind of music I'm creating myself I think can be described as alternative, but I'm also a jazz musician and a saxophone player so it has a lot of that in it too, but I'm also producing and recording for other people and that is less genre defined because the spectrum is a lot broader.
Right now, the mics in my possession are an sm57, an RE20, and a pair of Superlux S241s (which are very surprising!!), And I'm looking to finally get a large diaphragm condenser. What is most important for me is that it will flatter my vocal sound which is low and deep, but also let's say flatter female vocals and saxophone playing, all the rest could be great but is extra.
My budget saddly is about 1000$
What I thought about was:
This WA-47 (naturally)
Slate VMS
Telefunken AK47 mk1 (which a friend of mine is selling for 1000$)
I'd be happy to hear opinions and different ideas and also what you think of those options I presented.
Thank you!!
Old 4 weeks ago