The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
What gear(s) addition would best improve my recording setup? Condenser Microphones
Old 6 days ago
Gear Head
What gear(s) addition would best improve my recording setup?

Hi everyone,

First off, I am really a hobbyist. But, I really enjoy both playing music and the process of writing/recording and mixing my own songs. I have no plans of recording anyone else in the foreseable future.

I have never invested a lot of money in my recording setup, aside from some mics in the last 2-3 years. I would like to make some investments to try and bonify my setup and get better results.

My actual recording set up is :

room
: 10X17 treated with slanted ceiling and treated with a fair amount of OC 703 and 705.

Mics : Aston Spirit, AKG C214, KSM 137, SM7b, SM57, Fat Head II, Cad M179 and MXL V6.

Pre: either the pres in my Mackie 1402 VLZpro or on my Scarlett 8i6. I have a FetHead for the ribbon and SM7b. I record the bass trough a SansAmp bass driver.

Outboard processor : only a MPX 550 for headphone mix purposes only (reverb and compression on vocals - not printed to the DAW).

Monitors : M-audio SP-5b along with an m-audio subwoofer.

Recording medium : DAW

All mixing is done ITB with all tracks recorded completely dry aside from the HPF where needed. Most plugs are ik multimedia, your usual suspects.

I record mostly vox, guitars (acoustic and electrics) and a bass. Sometime a synth. My main acoustic is a all hog martin ooo15sm. My genre is folk rock. Songs a either slow naked acoustic songs or more orchestrated folk-rock songs. All drums are courtesy of EZ drummer...

here is my soundcloud page for some quick ideas of my style : Erikens | Free Listening on SoundCloud

I would like to have some outboard gears to track with and maybe commit a bit more on the way in to lower the load on my pc at mixtime.