The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
A technical conversion question... Metering
Old 1 week ago
Gear Head

A technical conversion question...

Hi,
Me and a friend would like to built a small hardware audio analyzer something like TC Electronic's Clarity M and i know that there's an A/D conversion going on at the inputs.I don't want to measure from any console or something but straight from a drum machine or a sampler like an MPC into this little box.Does it need to have outputs with a D/A stage (there's no audio processing) or the outputs can be bypass/Through?
Sorry i'm a newbie to all of this...

Thanks
Yorgos
Old 1 week ago
Gear Head

210 views and no reply?Anyone?
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

The reason nobody answers maybe has something to do with "being new to all this" and wanting to build something very difficult for reasons you don.t specify.

What is it you want to achieve exactly?
Why not just buy the clarity m thingy?
Old 1 week ago
Gear Head

I need something portable and battery powered to quickly check the mix on my MPC Live when i take it out of the studio...
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

There is no A/D conversion after the inputs on the Clarity M, that thing only has digital inputs.
The MPC live only has analog outputs, so you'd of course need an analog input (followed by an ADC) on your analyzer if you wanted to patch the two together.
I'm not sure what you mean by this though:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yorgos Arabatzis View Post
Does it need to have outputs with a D/A stage (there's no audio processing) or the outputs can be bypass/Through?
All of the analog outputs on your MPC are preceded by a DAC, because the outputs are analog and the gear producing the sound is digital.
What do you mean by "the outputs can be bypass/through" I really can't figure out.