The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Audient ASP800 w/ Focusrite Clarett 8 Pre X Audio Interfaces
Old 13th June 2018
Here for the gear

Audient ASP800 w/ Focusrite Clarett 8 Pre X

Hi I just recently acquired an audient asp800 in hopes of expanding my I/O count via adat. It’s to my understanding that if I use just an adat cable I’ll be slaving the Focusrite to the audient? If I am going out of the word clock output on the Focusrite and into the audient word clock input will I be then bypassing the converters on the audient and slaving it to the Focusrite? My plan was to just use the audient for extra pres. This is my first time trying to use multiple units in conjunction (never needed more than 8 inputs) so please be kind.. any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!
Old 13th June 2018
Gear Addict
You won’t be bypassing the converters in the Audient by using Word Clock from the Focusrite, you will be forcing the Audient to sync its converters to the Focusrite’s clock. I don’t know how the clock in the Clarett compares to the Audient, but I would bet they’re pretty close.
Old 13th June 2018
Here for the gear

Thanks for the quick response! So connecting them via adat and clocking through the audient wouldn’t make much of a difference?
Old 13th June 2018
Gear Addict
It shouldn’t, it’ll just be slightly more of a hassle to switch sample rates if that’s something you do often.
Old 13th June 2018
Gear Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by IanWolf324 View Post
Thanks for the quick response! So connecting them via adat and clocking through the audient wouldn’t make much of a difference?
I am not sure if I really understood your question. Just a few hints:

ADAT is a digital format.
You will use the Audient Micpres and converters, and transfer the digital data via ADAT to your interface (Focusrite).