The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Need a new all round high end vocal mic
Old 12th May 2018
Here for the gear

Need a new all round high end vocal mic

Hi Guys! I want some advice on microphones. I am getting the Neve 1073 pre amp along with a UA 1176 or Tube Tech compressor and looking for a all round high end studio microphone. I make vocal house / pop music.

I was thinking a Neumann u87ai, u47 or m147 or m149.

I also used a Sontronics Saturn and Aria once recently and got great results but thinking Neumann is the way forward.

I have been using a Rode NT1A with my UAD Apollo Quad for a few years and the results have been good but I want to step it up to get that extra 10-20%

Unfortunately I can only afford 1 mic for around £3-4K at the moment, so any insight would be great.
Show replies
Old 12th May 2018
Lives for gear

I would try the slate vms tbh
Show replies
Old 12th May 2018
Lives for gear

I would get an older U87, otherwise I'd get a couple of clones.
Show replies
Old 12th May 2018
Lives for gear

I know this may not be what you're looking for, but the best way to figure this out will be to actually test these mics for yourself. Mics can vary pretty dramatically between singers — what sounds perfect for one vocalist may be absolutely terrible for another. Find a high end pro audio shop or music studio near you and do a shootout. If that's not possible, buy and return until you find the right one.

All that said, I'll give you my (very biased) two cents. Take what I say with a grain of salt.

Of the mics listed, I own an M149 and have recorded a few songs with a U87 Ai. The U87 is a great mic, but also a complete mismatch for my voice, whereas the M149 is my favorite vocal mic period.