The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Seeking good mixer options for DAW mixdown (Soundcraft 200B vs. Onyx 1620)
Old 20th April 2007
Lives for gear

Seeking good mixer options for DAW mixdown (Soundcraft 200B vs. Onyx 1620)

I use analog outboard gear when tracking to my DAW and I've been mixing ITB for a few years. I'd like to be able to mix down 8-12 channels (4-6 stereo buses really) to stereo in the analog realm so I can make use of my outboard equipment during the mix. I'm playing with external sends and returns in Cubase to incorporate outboard reverb, etc., but emulating inserts is a pain in the ass.

I'm considering a couple different directions, but I can't decide which to take. I know this kind of question drives people nuts, but here it is: for $500-1,000, would I be better off using something new like a Mackie Onyx 1620 or should I try to find a used Soundcraft, A&H or other mixer from the "golden days" in good condition?

My priorities:

1) Quality audio path w/ample headroom
2) 12 inputs total -- 8 TRS channels input w/TRS inserts on at least 8 channels and a couple stereo channels would work or 12x2 is fine as well
3) 4 aux sends (stereo returns are nice or I could use inputs)
4) Decent 3 or 4 band EQ (defeatable EQ is a plus)
4) Compact in width (no more than 22" wide would be ideal)
5) Not a maintenance nightmare
6) Individual buses not necessary since I'll be mixing to stereo
(8x2 or 12x2 is best, 8x4x2 or 12x4x2 is OK)
7) Inserts on stereo bus (every mixer seemingly has these)

Here are the boards I'm considering w/notes:

Soundcraft 200B, Delta 200 or Delta SR -- I've seen some of these that have been well-maintained and recently cleaned/serviced and maintained, but all will have 20 year old caps, etc. Am I nuts to consider one of these (even one that's been recently serviced) if I'm maintenance averse?