The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
CD Ink Printer purchasing suggests
Old 20th October 2002
Lives for gear

CD Ink Printer purchasing suggests

I'm looking into buying a printer that I can print directly on to cd's with for a little snazzier presentation, and better organization. Anyone have one to suggest? Should I just buy the cheapest one I see? I hate it when you buy a lazer printer, it's like $150, but the ink cartridges are like $100 and run out monthly. What pitfalls should I look out for? Should I spring for a CD replicator that prints on the CD's and can be used to copy them? What price range am I looking at? I'd also like to be able to use photoshop, or the like to come up with some nice graphics since I was a computer graphic artist in a past life. I don't know where to start so any advice would be helpful.

I do NOT want to just use cd label stickers, so please don't suggest that.
Old 20th October 2002
Moderator emeritus

Check out the Diskmakers web site - I got a catalog from them last week that had a number of ink jet labelers.

Also, on the Mastering list, one fellow mentioned Primera printers as head and sholders above the rest.
Old 20th October 2002
We have a Primera inkjet (and it's worked trouble free for several years) - highly recommended. If memory serves me right, it was about $1100 and the ink cartridges (color) are about $50 each...
Old 22nd October 2002
Gear Maniac

I have a rimage thermal printer and I think it is excellent. Better than the ink jet style printer because the graphic does not smear like on the ink jet. Also it will print on any disc surface you do not have to buy specific cdrs. It does cost more but the cartridges cost about the same and if I am doing mainly text I have gotten over 3000 cd's on 1 ribbon. Not too bad as far as price per cd.

Old 22nd October 2002
Off Topic for a sec,