The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Setting up my studio???
Old 5th March 2007

Setting up my studio???

Hey guys,

This is my first post on gearslutz.com!!! Anyways, I am a current college student studying audio production and plan on starting a studio once I'm out of school. I currently use pro tools m-powered with the m-audio fw1814 for recording, and would also like my "real" studio to have a pro tools set up as well. however, I want to be able to mix on a big analog console and record into the computer...pro tools will not allow this unless I go HD and that is too expensive for me right now. So...I am going to list what I have in mind for my studio, and if you guys can help me out that would be great. My budget is 15,000-20,000 tops! Tell me what you would do???

Right now I am leaning towards the Soundcraft Ghost le 32 channel analog mixing console. I don't think it has automation, which sucks, but everything else seems awesome! I would like to run all of my outputs into a couple of MOTU 24 i/o's and into a computer DAW...probably Sonar 6. With this set up I could record digital and edit, mix, etc...as well as mix with a big analog console.

What do you guys think of the Soundcraft Ghost Le??? Is there a better choice for the price, maybe with automation??? Will my set up work???

thanks guys
Seth
Old 5th March 2007
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by sethbrand_12 View Post
Hey guys,