The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Hum/buzz when equipment is not plugged in Dynamics Processors (HW)
Old 26th November 2016
Lives for gear

Hum/buzz when equipment is not plugged in

I hear hum or buzz in a return from a hardware eq, even when the eq is powered down and unplugged (no 240V input, no audio input)!

I verified it's not the cables or my interface, and all my equipment has a common ground.

How can a unit cause noise when it's not even powered up?
Old 26th November 2016
Lives for gear

UPDATE:

I powered down the unit and removed the power cable. When I short across XLR pins 1 and 3 with a screwdriver, the noise disappears.

I am not an electrical engineer. I will not try this while the unit has power. But does this narrow down the problem?
Old 26th November 2016
Lives for gear

I actually hear this noise coming from all my outboard equipment! But it sounds different in each case. Only one channel of my ELOP makes noise. The Langevin preamp is dead quiet. I'm sorry to be so vague, but this is something I have no experience with.
Old 27th November 2016
Anything with a transformer input is likely to hum until you connect a load to it. That's normal and expected ... an open ended transformer coil is essentially a little radio receiver for hum ...
Old 27th November 2016