37 Votes - 22.29%
Voters: 166. You may not vote on this poll

Old 8th February 2007
Lives for gear

how many of u guys read music?

just curious.

I don't, not well.... well not really at all

I have pretty good knowlege of theory

Is it a necessity, producing, writting, getting around in a professional way?
Old 8th February 2007
Gear Guru
As an engineer, I can follow a chart well enough to talk to the players. As a player, I can follow a chord chart, but I wouldn't say I can read. And I do consider that a shortcoming.
Old 8th February 2007
Lives for gear

I can read a tiny bit. Enough to follow a score or play along if it's not too fast or complex .
I used to be better (when I studied guitar) but just haven't needed to read anything for ages.
Old 8th February 2007
Lives for Jesus

yes but a bit rusty .............

Old 8th February 2007
Gear Nut

I do, having a classical music background

Yeah, I do, being a halfway decent clarinet, piano, and guitar player. Tabs as well as "usual" score. Have a bit of a hard time with unusual clefs...
Old 8th February 2007
Gear Maniac

Yes, but I have a hard time "converting" scores for example clarinet or saxophone to actual notes. This is where drag and drop in your DAW comes in handy!
Old 8th February 2007
Gear Guru

Yes. For me it's not a convenience - it's a necessity.
Old 8th February 2007
BVB
Gear Maniac

I studied harmony and I must admit that sometimes it comes in very handy.

Greets

Paul
Old 8th February 2007
I also fit into the yes but I'm abit rusty. Chord charts are easy but sight reading notation especially music with a lot of ledger lines and I become the guitar player who turns down
Old 8th February 2007
You could put the beatles down for a no.
Old 8th February 2007
Gear Addict

i do and i can, but i dont love 2.
i see people in the consevatory study classical music,
but with out a paper in front of them they don't know ****.
whats up with that.

i had a violinist from the conservatory come over to the studio