The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Fat ear canals and hearing loss
Old 3rd February 2007
Here for the gear

Fat ear canals and hearing loss

I have gained about 100 lbs over the past 18 months and am suffering from some hearing loss. This sounds crazy, but my ear canals are actually fat and swollen. Have you guys heard of this before? This is causing my mixes to suffer a great deal. Everything sounds muffled.

I am thinking that some stints in my ears could push back the fat enough to let me hear again so I can get back to mixing.

Do you guys have any advise or thoughts on this? I can't imagine that I'm the only fat engineer out there. Surely someone has heard of this problem before.

Thanks.
Old 3rd February 2007
Lives for gear

this a joke.

I'm no doctor...but it's not a HEARING problem you have. you, my friend, have an eating problem.

go see a dietitian before you go to the ENT clinic.
Old 3rd February 2007
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by NesNeedsGear View Post

I'm no doctor...but it's not a HEARING problem you have. you, my friend, have an eating problem.
There are other reasons (medical problems...) someone could gain 100 lbs. in eighteen months and I think most of them would be well served with a bit of sensetivity.
Old 3rd February 2007

100 pounds in 18 months is a real problem. Have you talked to a regular doctor about this issue?

-tINY

Old 3rd February 2007
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by NesNeedsGear View Post
this a joke.

go see a dietitian before you go to the ENT clinic.
Dude, You suck.

I do need to cut back on the porkchops though. In fact, I plan to start a weight loss program next week. That is the long term solution.

In the mean time, I think the stints in my big nasty ear canals would push back the fat enough to let me hear enough to knock down some of my rap mixes that are needing to be finished up.