The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Preamp to go with Gefell UMT70S......
Old 29th January 2007
Here for the gear

Preamp to go with Gefell UMT70S......

Hi all,
To start off with, I'm a musician that does home recording, folk to rock (think Led Zep style to sum it up). A few years ago I bought a Gefell UMT70S as kind of a main mic...I thought I would try not to skimp on a microphone. Well, here's my delemma....
Gefell into Mackie 1402-VLZ into M-Audio Delta 44. So basically a decent mic into a cheapie preamp into cheapy a/d converters. Would it be worth it to get a $500 to $1200 single channel preamp only to go into the Delta 44? I know sound is a very subjective thing, but any experiences out there with Gefell or Gefell type mic (m7 type capsule) and a particular preamp ? I don't mind coloration or clean- just looking for a good main preamp ( for vox, electric and acoustic guitars, bass, some percussion) so I can forget about it and make some music!!
Here's what I've been looking at in no particular order:
1.Chandler Germanium
2. API Lunchbox with API 500 series or OSA module
3. FMR RNP
4. True Systems p-solo
5. Great River ME-1NV
6. GT the Brick
7. UA Solo 610/110
8. Summit Audio 2BA-221
9. Grace audio (the cheapest model... 101?)
10. Hamptone diy kit ....yikes!
11. JoeMeek 1Q
Any others?

Thanks for any advice!
Old 29th January 2007
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by garytube View Post
Hi all,
To start off with, I'm a musician that does home recording, folk to rock (think Led Zep style to sum it up). A few years ago I bought a Gefell UMT70S as kind of a main mic...I thought I would try not to skimp on a microphone. Well, here's my delemma....