The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
computer alternatives to an mpc.
Old 23rd January 2007
Gear Addict

computer alternatives to an mpc.

Ive been using my mpc200xl for over 5 years now and love it. But i have been offered a job in Honduras and its a bit weighty to carry around, I was wondering if their are any computer alternatives to it. I know akai make their mpd which is basically their mpc drumpads but for a computer so im guessing their must be a program that does what the mpc does on the computer using the mpd. Please let me know.
Im not down with those sampling programs without drum pads that make you plot out everything. I want sumin with the feel of an mpc (mpd) but on the computer.

Blessings

Bendecido
Old 24th January 2007
Gear Nut

maybe use an mpd with native instruments battery.

havent used an mpd before so i'm not sure how they 'feel'. also midi latency may be an issue if you are playing beats 'live'.

i still believe my mpc4000 sounds better than battery. not sure if its its something to do with the summing inside the mpc as opposed to battery/cubase or whether its just me.

battery is a nice program. really easy to use and has most of the standrad features you would want for a drum machine. i use it all the time.

if you want multisamples, native instruments kontakt may be the way to go.

of course you will need a sequencing program to accompany these programs (e.g. steinberg cubase etc).

btw. there are heaps of programs out there that can do what you require.

hope this helps
Old 24th January 2007
Gear Addict

thanks for the advice bruther. what this about this midi latency youre talking about? wil this affect the timing and the "feel"

I love the mpc and simplicity of it. I was wondering if their was a program that does everything the mpc does - sampling, sequencing, editing etc in one. so u just hook up the mpd and you got a virtual mpc.
Using 3 or 4 programs seems confusing to me. I like having simplicity.
thanks for the hlp tho ima chek em out