The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Sommer/Monster/Mogami Test - Does It Realy Matter ?
Old 23rd January 2007
Gear Head

Sommer/Monster/Mogami Test - Does It Realy Matter ?

I'm an italian musician/producer and not an real engineer.
now i'm upgrading my gear to get a better sound (sick of digital ...ProTools)
So i tested some cables:

I recorded them with a Rhode NTK > Rhode Tube Cable > Rhode Power Supply > Cable(=test) > Mindprint DTC > RME ADI 8 AE > ProTools Mix3 TDM on OS9(Mac).
Cables:
Monster Pro Series 1 (the super thick one), Monster StudioPro1000, Sommer Albedo, Mogami Neglex2534, Cordial CMTOP222.

My results/opinion:
At least the Monster Series 1 became my favorite. There is more transparency and db/loudness. Sommer Albedo is realy cool but there are more high frequences (well its a metter of taste and i like it) and it hasn't all the tranparency (like all the other cables) that has the thick Monster. But i must admit that SOMMER makes realy fine stuff.

... i have for monitoring a Sommer EPILOGUE between the RME and an NAD 350 AMP to custom made speakers and i'm pretty satisfied with the tranparenc highs.

The Monster Studio1000 is on the second place but the difference to the other cables isn't that significant. Place three is the Mogami ...last the Cordial.

in my outboard racks there are Monster 500 snakes and old Belden 15128
... of course Monster is much better.

Here in Italy everyone has PROEL (and some Tasker). Never tested them but i'm sure they can't keep up with the other ones.

(?)
Before updating the whole studio to Monster (maybe some Sommer) (into a Focusrite 115HD) and spending a lot of money, i want to know if there are realy better solutions (i read other threats... but nobody mentioned SOMMER Cables and the importance of the right tin-solder).
(?)
Are AMPHENOL better than NEUTRIK connectors ?
(?)
Should i use WBT silver tin-solder ?

_____
steviesteve
Old 23rd January 2007
Lives for gear